We're cultivating


Our Staff

Debbie Acker, Ed.D.

Senior Associate Director for Operations and Academic Programs

Anne Beddingfield, Ph.D.

Coordinator for Scholarships and Strategic Partnerships

Michael S. Domeracki, Ph.D.

Assistant Director for Outreach Programs

Lee Ennis

Business Officer

Jenn Fendrich

Program Specialist for Outreach Programs

Cindy Maciejewski

Executive Assistant

Barbara Mulkey, P.E.


“Integrity is the underpinning of everything we stand for and do.”

—General Hugh Shelton

Andrea Ramos-Lewis

Assistant Director for College Programs

Tony Reevy

Director of Development – IEI/SLC

Ashley Turlington

Assistant Director for Pre-College Programs

Sierra Smith

Program Specialist for College Programs

Sam Armstrong

Student Staff

Hannah Caudill

Student Staff

Danielle Meyer

Danielle Meyer | Student Staff

Keymoni Sakil-Slack

Student Staff

Board of Advisors

Board Members

  • Mr. Kenneth Walker, Board Chair, Driven Brands, Inc. (Retired), Charlotte, NC
  • Mr. Woody Sessoms, Board Vice Chair, Cisco (Retired), Charlotte, NC
  • Ms. Gayle Lanier, Board Second Vice Chair, Duke Energy (Retired), Raleigh, NC
  • Mr. Edward T. Carney, Board Immediate Past Chair, Chairmain WhiteStar Communications Inc, Cary, NC
  • General H. Hugh Shelton, USA, (Retired), Executive Director, Newport, NC
  • Mrs. Carolyn Shelton, Newport, NC
  • Mr. Joe Anglim, Red Hat, Inc., Raleigh, NC
  • Mr. Bill Cecil, Jr., The Biltmore Company, Asheville, NC
  • Ms. Iliana Claudio, Chancellor's Leadership Development Program Alumna, Shelton Leadership Center, Saint Pauls, NC
  • The Honorable Bob Etheridge, (Retired), Lillington, NC
  • Mr. Marc Fath, WhiteStar Communications, Raleigh-Durham, NC
  • Mr. David Hays, Legacy Solutions, LLC, Fayetteville, NC
  • Mr. Jack P. Jordan, Jordan Lumber, Mt. Gilead, NC
  • Mr. Mel King, Highmark Companies, Cary, NC
  • Dr. Mary Patton, Department of Defense Educational Activity (DODEA) (Retired), New Smyrna Beach, FL
  • Mr. Jon Rufty, Rufty Homes, Cary, NC
  • Mr. Jeff Shelton, The Boeing Company, Mesa, Arizona
  • Mrs. Crystal W. Sides, Landvision Designs, Raleigh, NC
  • Mr. Peter B. Stewart, Peter Stewart Enterprises, Fayetteville, NC
  • Rear Admiral Ralph E. Suggs, USN (Retired), Alumni Affairs, NC State University, Raleigh, NC
  • Ms. Susan Ward, President, NC Veterinary Medical Foundation, Raleigh, NC

Ex-Officio Members

  • Barbara Mulkey, PE, FASCE, Director, Shelton Leadership Center, Raleigh, NC
  • Dr. Debbie Reno Acker, Senior Associate Director, Shelton Leadership Center, Raleigh, NC
  • Dr. Brad Kirkman, Department Head, Management, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship Department, Poole College of Management and General H. Hugh Shelton Distinguished Professor of Leadership, Raleigh, NC
  • Dr. Warwick Arden, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, NC State University, Raleigh, NC
  • Tony Reevy, Director of Development, Shelton Leadership Center, Raleigh, NC

Emeritus Members

  • Col. J. Quincy Collins, Jr., USAF (Retired), NAI Southern Real Estate, Charlotte, NC
  • Ms. Connie Stevens, CEO, Forever Spring, Los Angeles, CA
  • Mr. Fred Thomas, Pinch a Penny Pools and Spas, Clearwater, FL

Follow us on Twitter

The Shelton Leadership Center would like to extend our gratitude to Red Hat for their generous contribution to the Red Hat Shelton Challenge. Their investment provides us with the tools necessary to shape value-based leaders for many years to come! pic.twitter.com/jhtl0zwpTV

Are you a professional interested in getting involved with the Shelton Leadership Center? The Red Hat Shelton Challenge is looking for instructors for summer 2021! Find more information at: go.ncsu.edu/challengestaff pic.twitter.com/LJ599hVDHd

Are you a college student interested in volunteering with high school students? The Shelton Leadership Center is looking for Coach/Mentor/Trainers (CMTs) for the 2021 Red Hat Shelton Challenge! Find more information at: go.ncsu.edu/challengestaff pic.twitter.com/CBsxEoeDCr

Are you a current high school student who has attended the Red Hat Shelton Challenge? Apply to serve as a Peer Leader in 2021! Find more information at: go.ncsu.edu/challengestaff pic.twitter.com/jD4Ekl1yk0

Contact us for more information

    I’d like to receive emails from Shelton Leadership Center.